You Don’t Get This Stuff In Your More Cosmopolitan Areas

6 Aug

I have been feeling very nostalgic lately. I tend to get that way around the start of school. It's the smell of crayons and yeast rolls. I've also been reading some books set in Natchez, Mississippi which is about 140 miles west of where I grew up. I also had a discussion yesterday with some friends from home about one of the secret treasures of The South: Lauren Rogers Museum of Art in Laurel, Mississippi. Laurel is where I grew up. First rate museum, and it's free. In heaven all museums are free. All this combines to make me a little wistful. That doesn't happen often, so when it does, I mark the occasion with a blog post.

A friend from home suggested that I check out the Facebook page of our hometown television station. He said the comments would either make me laugh or cry. I figured either way it was a win. Small town newspapers and television stations, man. Does it get any better? Only thanks to the internet where any moron like me can click a few keys and cement his or her place in Commenting History. Sometimes the stories just make me sad. Ones about servicemen and women who have died in the war. Then I get furious when people–pro-war and anti-war–use those stories to push forward their agenda rather than quietly marking the loss of life. Sometimes, as was the case today, I get a laugh. The local NBC affiliate put a link on their Facebook page to a story about how Mississippi is looking at a law similar to Arizona's immigration law. The poster for the affiliate posed these questions: What do you think guys? Would this violate the Forth Amendment? It only took one post to point out the misspelling of "Fourth". It took 50 for me to point out that they had confused the Fourth Amendment with the Fourteenth. 

It's the internet, right?

But then I saw this post on the wall of the television station.

Garbagetruck

What animal? What garbage truck? Why did no one answer? I must know. I must. 

Just spit it out, already!

