Lucky. Yeah, Right.

9 Oct

All the time people are telling me how lucky I am to have my husband. He’s a kind, smart, funny, gorgeous, thoughtful, solid man. So all the time I’m getting, “Oh, what a guy, that Chuck. You’re so lucky.” Well, one, no. I’m not lucky. This relationship is the result of elbow grease. I’m not saying we laid traps. I’m saying that we were grown-ass adults who understood relationships are work and were willing to do that work to have a good relationship. HOWEVER, the overall point is well taken.

He’s a saint. The man is a saint.

Thing is, he doesn’t get a lot of, “Oh, how lucky you are that Susan married you. What would you do without her?”  It took me until tonight to figure out why that is.

3 Responses to “Lucky. Yeah, Right.”

  1. Desi October 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    “Sigh”

    • Susan October 9, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      I knew that’s what you would say.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Bunny | Yeah And And Another Thing… - October 16, 2012

    […] Until I got married, I never knew it was possible to love and to hate someone at the same time. I mean that much more positively than it sounds, HONEY. I don’t think this makes me a terrible person. I think it makes me a person who lives with her true love. And a person who occasionally wants to hold said true love’s head under the water until the bubbles stop. You think he feels any differently? HA! Our prenup specifically allows him up to ten minutes of homicidal fantasies a day. Fifteen if I use any tense of the word “redecorate”. […]

Just spit it out, already!

