*facepalm*

8 Jan

I’ve been looking around for some canisters to store things like flour and sugar. You know, you need a good wide mouth on those suckers. I’ve found several I like, some more expensive than others.

BUT!

I’ve been saving coffee canisters in case there’s a Soviet invasion and we run out of empty containers. We get the cheap stuff. Whatever’s on sale. I knew I’d use them for something and DUH! I’m going to use universal spray paint to cover those suckers to make them purdy. I have some hammered-look spray paint I got for something, so I’m going to try that. Maybe fiddle with a label since they won’t be see-through. And, YES, before you ask, I know not to paint the inside.

I’ll let you know how it turns out. I know you’re quivering with anticipation.

8 Responses to “*facepalm*”

  1. Divers and Sundry January 9, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    i use those restaurant-sized glass pickle jars, but i broke one once. coffee canisters are sounding smart to me.

    • Susan January 9, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      See, that’s one reason I didn’t want to go for glass. I’m what you might call accident-prone.We’ve used the big five gallon pickle buckets for all sorts of stuff. In fact, the reason I’m using this particular color on the canisters is because I spray painted some pickle buckets to use as planters. The Power of The Pickle.

  2. twindaddy January 9, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    I figured you’d figure I’d be anticipating the results, but how did you know I was quivering?

    • Susan January 9, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      I SEE YOU THROUGH THE INTERWEBZ

      • twindaddy January 16, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

        Creepy much?

  3. Gita January 9, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    At least you didn’t buy one of those “Mammy” jar sets for flour and corn meal. I went to a housewarming one time (Blount County, Ala.) and “the gals” just thought those were a hoot (makes the finger-in-throat sound).

  4. little merry sunshine January 9, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    My mom has stored sugar/flour in coffee canisters for 30 yrs.

    • Susan January 9, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      I have no clue why this didn’t dawn on me sooner. The ones I wanted are about $30 each, and that seemed ridiculous to hold something that’s a buck a pound.

Just spit it out, already!

