Briefly

6 Nov

Four years ago, I watched the election returns from a Holiday Inn off the 240 Loop. It sounds more sordid than it really was. I was called for jury duty and, because my luck is nothing if not stellar, I was sequestered. One of the things Shelby County does really well is scheduling for jury duty. You get to pick the week you’re called. Knowing this, I voted early. We were, along with our bailiffs, allowed to watch the returns.

I didn’t serve in the military. I have no interest in any job that involves campaigning. And while I think both the jury system and electoral system are flawed beyond reason, I vote and I serve on a jury.  There was something about sitting in a hotel room with more than a dozen other citizens, all strangers, watching history being made. I’d have preferred to be watching the returns with my family, but it was still a little patriotic jolt to get the results the way I did.

This year I’ll be plopped in front of the television in the den, kid on one side, husband on the other. Hopefully something in front of me involving items from the wine, pickle, and cheese groups.

And I will, as I was four years ago, be missing Tim Russert.

2 Responses to “Briefly”

  1. Gita8 November 8, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    now that you have seen the returns, what say you? I say:
    “Thous Shalt Not Underestimate The Woman Voter Who Protecteth Her Reproductive Rights.” — Fallopians 1:24

    • Susan November 8, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      I think since we have become aware of how thoroughly Joshua Judges Ruth, the Numbers will be a Revelation to the Matthews, Marks, Lukes, and Johns and there will be a great Exodus of Esthers from the GOP.

Just spit it out, already!

